You’re invited…

Anyone who knows me can tell you that I am a sucker for fine stationery.  Saturdays, you’ll find me browsing the notecards in my favorite boutiques– heck, even my grocery store will suffice (they stock Crane’s paper after all!). 

And for me, the invitation is one of the most important factors when setting the scene for a big event.  In fact, my William Arthur invites inspired my entire design theme, from color to texture. 

Perhaps more importantly, the invitation tells your guests the kind of event they should expect.  So, if you’re a modern gal planning a city chic wedding, why send them something uber-traditional?  If, like me, you’re sentimental and a tad traditional, why send an ultra contemporary one? Here are a few of my favorite finds for brides looking for a little Asian inspiration.

Japanese Paper Invite

DIY Yuzen Red Flowers Booklet Invite from Paper Source

 For DIY brides who still want a high-end look, these printable invites made with Japanese paper from Paper Source do double duty. 

slate gray cherry blossom invites

5 x 7 Wedding Invitation with an hint of Oriental influence by FinishedWork

To be honest, I’ve never been a huge fan of many of the cherry blossom invites out there and a lot of it has to do with the use of one of my least favorite color combinations: pink and brown.  That’s why I loved this minimalist design from FinishedWork on Etsy.com.  Although it borrows from the imagery traditional to Japanese weddings, it steers clear of overt girliness, making it a winning pick for an elegant evening affair.
Paper Lantern Invitation

Paper Lantern Wedding Invitation Set by jenniferraichman

Another fantastic Etsy find that would be perfect for a garden wedding, engagement party, bridal shower, or rehearsal.  One note of caution here– the paper is listed as “soft white,” which is a no-no in some Asian cultures.  So the best bet is to check with the fam before placing your order.  Otherwise you may end up with one very mad MOB or FMIL. 

kates paperie umbrella stationery

Imprintable Invitations, Bridal Shower Umbrella from Kate's Paperie

Because this one is for bridal showers, I am going to give the ok to pink and brown just this once.  And, who am I kidding?  The parasol design is just too cute.  Best of all, it comes in a money-saving  print-it-yourself kit.

contemporary japanese invite

Japanese Pattern by KembaCelebrations

This one may be my favorite of the bunch.  I love the contemporary take on the traditional Japanese print, the fresh colors, and the beautiful type faces.
peony invite

Abstracted Peony Invitation by Valie520

One of my favorite flowers in a design reminiscent of one of my favorite artists, Jo Smail.  It’s so pretty it kind of makes me want to renew my vows and invite all of you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

